State laws for online gambling are not based on residence, but rather location, so many people cross state lines in their car, place a bet via their phones, and drive back home, and it is all completely legal.
Bhutan is smoking-free, carbon-negative country that passes no law unless it improves citizens’ well-being.
In 1896, New York passed a law that alcohol could only be served on Sunday if it was with a meal. New York taverns then started “selling” inedible sandwiches (served with a drink). The waiter would collect the sandwich at the end of the meal, and serve it the next customer.
ABBA’s famous outfits were chosen because of Swedish tax law. If they bought cloths for performance they could get a tax deduction, but they had to prove they couldn’t be worn on the street. According to Björn “we looked like nuts […] Nobody can have been as badly dressed on stage as we were”.
In Texas, the law states two individuals who feel the need to fight can agree to mutual combat through verbal or implied communication and have at it. As long as no “serious” injury occurs and both participants know what degree of risk they are hazarding, it’s allowed.
The Stubborn Children Law (repealed in 1973) enacted by Massachusetts Bay Colony (1646), Connecticut (1650), Rhode Island (1668), and New Hampshire (1679), allowed a disobedient son “of sufficient years and understanding” (at least 16) to be put to death.
In 1850, California law made it legal for towns to pay bounties for Indian scalps. Shasta City offered $5 for every Indian head brought to city hall, expenses reimbursed by the state treasury. There were 150,000 Indians in California before the 49ers, by 1870 less than 30,000.
It is illegal, in the state of New York, to put your thumb on you nose, and wiggle your other fingers. This is a old law, written in the 1600-1700s, but it is in the law book.
According to Texas Bankruptcy laws, you can keep 1 house, 1 car, 1k use limit in bank account, a bible or other religious text, and 2 guns.
A city in Virginia passed an ordinance earlier this year barring people older than 14 from trick-or-treating. If the law is enforced, anyone older could be guilty of a misdemeanor and fined $250.